Board of Directors

President - Stewart Ball

Immediate Past President
- Angela Hayes

President Elect - Phil Schortgen

Regional Vice President for the NAADAC 
Mid-Central Region - Gisela Berger

NAADAC President -
Gerald J. "Gerry" Schmidt


Treasurer - Phil Schortgen

Secretary - OPEN

Chairperson of the Licensure &
By-Laws Committee - Ron Chupp

Chairperson of the Ethics Committee -
Rob Morgan

Chairperson of the Conference Committee -OPEN

Webmaster - Ann Ninness

Stewart Ball - President 

More information coming soon!


Angela Hayes - Immediate Past President

Angela Hayes, LMHC, LCAC began her career in 1992 as a clinical therapist  in  community mental health.  She has spent half of her career in community  mental  health both as a therapist and as an administrator.  The other half  has  been in higher education.  Currently, Angela is a full time faculty at Ivy Tech  Community  College, teaching in the Human Services Department. 

Angela also teaches as an adjunct for the Clinical Mental Health Counseling Program at ISU where she also serves as a Clinical Supervisor for the graduate students in the Counseling Clinic.


Phil Schortgen - President Elect & Treasurer

Phil Schortgen received his BA in Philosophy thru St. Pius X, Erlanger, KY in 1982. In 1986 he earned an M.Div in theology thru St. Mary of the Lake, Mundelein, IL. In 1992 he earned his M.S. in Mental Health Counseling thru St. Francis University, Fort Wayne, IN. As a counselor his first employer was the Koala Center in Fort Wayne, IN focusing on addictions treatment. This is where he developed an interest in addictions treatment. Phil received his certification as an addictions counselor. For a time he worked in an EAP department - largely concerned with addiction treatment. He has worked at the Recovery Center of AADP for the past 11+ years as the Clinical Director. This is an Anti-abuse program merging the disciplines of medical, probation, and clinical. They have been in existence for about 25 years. In the mid to late 1990's Phil was on the Governor’s Task Force for a Drug Free Indiana while working in Adams County.


This is his return to public service work.

IAAP: Education, Training and Ethics

We Moved!  Please make a note of our new address!

IAAP CENTRAL OFFICE ~ 2346 S. Lynhurst Drive, Suite D101 ~ INDIANAPOLIS, IN 46241

PHONE: (317) 481-9255 ~ FAX: (317) 481-1825

© Indiana Association for Addiction Professionals

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management